Nadinescloset.

and the rest is chaos

Girl Climbs Around Forest, Woodland Creatures Watch In Horror February 2, 2011

Filed under: Girl — nadinescloset @ 1:01 AM
Tags: , , , , ,

Venturing out into the gray, the usual curious wondering in the forest, the usual chill, wet feet.  I had a habit of following just one path, day after day,  finding nothing but snapped branches and my own footprints.  I did once encounter  a muskrat, but it quickly vanished. Another time I found an enormous dead crayfish.  Time spent searching,  wasted on a slippery marmot and a dead thing.  I wanted to know what went on. My longing to be liked by creatures, to be the exception to their doubts led me off one day into uncertain woodland.   A mess of thorny vines caught my pant leg as I tried to follow a trail of Fisher prints. I felt clumsy, human . The Fisher navigated expertly, with grace.  My presence was loud, unnerving, my shoes crushing saplings, squeaking atop rotted logs.  I stayed on the path of the Fisher.

Deer, coyote, fox, beaver, muskrat, porcupine, rabbit  joined the Fisher, and together these feet had worn a highway in the thicket.  There was a deep borrow complete with fresh droppings, an entrance perhaps to extensive tunnels. There was a turkey feather in a Fisher’s hole. Countless  tiny stumps had been gnawed into pencil tips by a beaver. A pile of pine shavings fresh from that day. My attention turned to the marsh, to his dam. Maybe he had hidden there, spooked by my arrival, maybe I could get close enough to see. I felt like a creature, like I might learn their secrets.

I sunk into the icy grasses along the shallows of the swamp. I balanced along grounded trees, grasping for sturdy holds. Standing on a bank, rushed, anxious, as though I was sure to see the beaver, I pondered the rushing water of a lively brook feeding the swamp. I confidently jumped, with a leg stretched out, and landed in the icy stream. As I climbed out, shocked, slow, I thought of how ridiculous I had been on this quest to befriend the wildlife. December air stung my wet skin.

Deer, coyote, fox, beaver, muskrat, porcupine, rabbit.  I trudged away, they surely reappeared soon after. I am not the exception to their doubts.  The creatures will always take cover in dens or holes, or flee with white tails waving. I am not the exception to their doubts,  and I can never know them.

 

One Response to “Girl Climbs Around Forest, Woodland Creatures Watch In Horror”

  1. An owl has taken residence in the yard. Pleasant hooting in the evenings.


Leave a Reply

